New to the forum and need help..

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HollowSoul

Reaction score
Just dropped a wad of cash for a triple rectifier and have a few Q's
first off, i'm running the boss GT8 effects processor using the 4CM (4 cable method) i was lead to believe that in doing this the GT8's preamp would be bypassed alltogether allowing me to utilize the mesa's power...
unfortunately....no
second..is an idea i have, since there are 3 channels on the recto, is there a way i could just utilize the GT8 on channel 1 and leave 2 and 3 under recto control?

Welcome to the board!

Ok first off I have zero experience with the GT8 but...
The Recto preamp is a lot more versital than many people think. You can achieve some killer tones once you learn how to dial-in the amp. Try the GT8 in the fx loop, bypassing any modelling/cab sim and just use it for the effects (delays and reverbs best in loop). If you use a lot of pitch-shifting or modulation FX you might like it better in front rather than the loop. Just my .02

If your Triple is like my '00 Dual, then you should be able to select individual channels for which to utilize your effects!

From what I understand about the 4 cable method is that you will need to turn off (bypass) the preamp stuff on the GT8. Most all the programs use the preamp and/or distortion and you will need to NOT use them on the GT8 when running the 4CM. Although, one place you might want to use some is for adding a boost before hitting the preamp of the amp (like using a tubescreamer)

And since you can use the FX CHAIN (pg 20 of GT8 manual) to put all the effects, preamps, and loops in a different order, make sure you put the loop near the beginning (if not right after the vol pedal)

Sorry if I'm repeating what you already know but here is a sample signal path.

Guitar into GT8