The most important tube in your amp

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rockin_Ron

Reaction score
Have you all read this? Seems pretty interesting and I did not know this. I'm new to this tube stuff and I'm been concentrating on the signal gain chain specifically V1; which everyone says is the most important in developing your tone.

http://www.guitaramplifierblueprinting.com/files/Phaseinverter.pdf

Let discuss. Is anyone using these 12AT7s like he suggests for greater touch sensitivity?

Great read there...Myles rose has a great rep for his work with guitar amps. However, he is incorrect as far as the amount of gain in a 12at7. it is in the 40's, not the 60's as he has said. Nitpicking aside, I agree with his words about the importance of the phase inverter, and yes, it is the hardest working tube in a push pull amp design. Another thing he mentioned that I disagree with is about his assertion that 12at7 tubes are not all that suitable for a V! position. That depends on the amp circuit. Personally, I have had great results using a 12at7 in a V1 position, with great touch sensitivity to boot. This is in more than one amp design, too. :)

For the amount of time it takes to swap out a tube in a particular position, turn the amp back on, letting it warm up, and playing through it, seems kinda foolish to just accept some one's words (mine too!) without taking the time to do for one's self and listen to see what one's fingers and ears think. :shock:

I'm not a touring musician, but if I were, there would still not be anything but vintage tubes in my amps, and there is no problem with finding a replacement because I have stocked up enough preamp tubes to last several human lifetimes for several players. It's not that hard to patiently stock up on what you like over a period of time...

it is in the 40's, not the 60's as he has said