Price check on a hardwood IIC+

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PeeCee

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to the Boogie Board. I usually hang out at Plexi Palace and TGP. A couple of threads over there aroused my interest in picking up a IIC+

There is a hardwood Simul-Class IIC+ in great shape available locally (Japan) for about $3000. Is this a good price or is that sort of the going rate? It has reverb and the EQ. I don't think it is the Export Transformer model--those have some kind of red switch on the back, right?

Thanks in advance!

$3000 is a bit high by today's standards, but not completely insane. Two years ago fully-loaded hardwood combos were going for that, and sometimes more.

In terms of value, it's important to know whether it's a factory C+ or an upgraded model. Factory or production C+'s will command a premium even though the circuitry is identical. The serial number will usually indicate this, but not always when dealing with serial numbers close to the crossover point between the IIC and the C+ productions. There is also a "loop test" that can confirm whether it's a C+. If you're serious about entering the C+ world, you MUST read this: http://forum.grailtone.com/viewtopic.php?t=18184&highlight=mark+iic

Also, is it a head or combo? If a combo, which speaker (usually either an EVM 12-L or Eminence MS-12).

I've also seen an export transformer model without the voltage switch. The way to be sure is the part number on the export transforrmer will begin with the letter "X".