Hi there you guys, please help, im a noob

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blackmesa

Reaction score
so yea, i've been saving up to get a killer amp, at the moment i have $1500 at my disposal, what do you guys think i should use it on mesa wise. keep in mind that i have to have a lid on the volume and that im a gainiac. I LOVE the Mark IV but it seems way to loud. Is there anything else with the same quality tone that operates at a lower volume? thanks a lot, i really appreciate it.

Eddie

Did you know that you can cut the power of the Mark IV way down?

First you could try those settings above: Tweed, Triode, Class A

I can run mine like that at about 3 or 4 in my house without killing the neighbors. Granted that is in combo configuration. I probably wouldn't try that with a 4x12. Mine has the Mesa 420 6L6's.

You can also run 6V6's that have less output than 6L6's and EL34's. Make sure you read hte manual though before using 6V6's.

You could even run Yellowjackets. Those have EL84's.

Most of the gain you are looking for is in the preamp anyway. So a power change isn't that big of a deal at lower volumes. You do get to push the lower powered tubes harder though for the same amount of volume. With Tweed, Triode, and Class A your power across the amp is cut and how your power tubes are being powered in a way that they are not making as much output.

buy a triple rec, run in with gain, presence, treb, bass on 10, mids on 0, and the master at 1........

oh wait, thats if you wany to LOOK like a n00b.

mark IV is a good way to go if you can find one. all sorts of power options anywhere from like 10 watts to like 85. or you can buy my mark III, but the way I run it is about as subtle and well mannered as a shovel to the face