First post, questions about RKIIs and Tremoverb Dual Recto

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DevilDog48

Reaction score
Hi everyone. First post here. Wanted to say hi. I have been playing guitar since I was 12 (1996), but am just getting back into it after a 2 year hiatus.

I have decided that this time around, Im going save my hard earned dollars wrenching on cars and buy an amp from the best amp manufacturer out there!

I have decided that my choice for myself is between two Mesa's, one that's in production, and one that isnt. The one that is in production is the Dual Recto Roadking II, and the other one that isnt is the Dual Rector Tremoverb.

When I was a weee pup walking wide eyed through Guitar Center, I got a chance to butcher a few Metallica songs through the Tremoverb and discovered that the Tremoverb had the EXACT distortion channel that I was looking for. I have yet to find an amp that has reproduced that tone!

It is certainly possible that time has altered the tone that I heard in my head, and that is why I am considering the Roadking II. If the amp is as advertised, then it should reproduce the Tremoverb tone.

I guess what I am asking is that if people have played both amps that I am talking about, could I have your feedback on how the two amps compare tonewise on the high gain channels? Even though the Roadking is a tad on the expensive side (2500 alone for the head) it seems as if its worth more than its weight in gold, at least as far as amplifier versatility goes!

Thanks to everyone in advance for their advice/opinions!

i would say read all the other posts about these two heads. there have been a few lately comparing the two.