Are my caps still good? Pictures

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MJ Slaughter

Reaction score
I just picked up a DC-3 and though it looks OK to me I am by no means an expert. Can anyone tell me if my 220uf and 30uf caps look OK? I don't see any blistering or swelling. Sure hope I don't have to change the 220uf's anytime soon. Looks like you have to pull the whole board out. On the PCB etched in was Mesa DC 23 C, 1993. Would it be safe to presume that it was assembled around 1993?

220uf.jpg

30uf.jpg

30uf2.jpg

fullview.jpg

They 'look' fine...but in reality that doesn't say alot. If you feel the tone is lacking or you notice irregularities/inconsistantcies in you overall sound then it never hurts to have her checked out by an authorized mesa tech. I recently had my old Studio Pre and a 50/50 (ebay disaster) in for service and they both have returned sounding stellar. Like a muscle car... tube amps need care, love, maintenance, and some really good flogging to keep 'em running well.

I just replaced mine in my Mark III. They looked fine but sounded blah. How old is your amp?

droptrd said:
I just replaced mine in my Mark III. They looked fine but sounded blah. How old is your amp?
Not exactly sure of the age but Mesa said they were made between 1994-1999 and I have a SN on the later side so maybe around 1997. When I change out the caps in my DC-10 they looked OK but it did make a big difference.

Anyone have experience pulling the board out of this small chassis? I would just change them if I didn't have to remove the board. That looks too much like real work.

Those caps have a "freshness" date of 1997 on them and should be perfectly healthy. You should probably plan to change them when they turn 20, unless of course you are experiencing trouble that can be traced to one of them.
Jim