Triple Rectifier and Power Amp questions

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

triple rectumfrier

Reaction score
Hey everyone! First let me introduce myself before I get into it.

My name is Matt. I am 20 years old and I have been playing guitar for 10 years. I play Lead/Rhythm (equally shared with our other equally talented guitarist) in a metal/hardcore band named Prey for the Hunters.

My rig:
Mesa Boogie Triple Rectifier
Mesa Boogie Standard 412 (I think? it's the bigger one)
ESP KH-2 guitar

Rack Gear:
1. Monster Power power conditioner
2. Korg tuner
3. Shure ULXP4 wireless
4. BBE Sonic Maximizer 882 (?)

HERES THE QUESTION!!!
okay, so I went over to my buddys place and he has a power amp (1000W) connected to a Randall solid state head. I did NOT like the sound it produced being solid state, but the sound was MASSIVE coming out of a full stack.

What would getting a power amp do for me? I have never heard of or thought of ever using a power amp in conjunction with the triple rectifier. What are the pro's and con's of using a power amp? I understand I can then CRANK up my volume to 8 giving it that tube distortion tone and then have the power amp actually control the volume to the cabs...but will it thicken my sound and make it bigger? I was told I need some kind of "hot plate" as well...

Any help would be amazing,
thanks everyone!
-Matt