Tonal differences between the MK III and IV

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dave-o

Reaction score
Im a mesa noob, I have a single recto but Im looking for a tighter dist sound. Im just looking for a good clean and bone crushing lead channel. Id like a mk IV but they might be out of my price range a bit. How does the III stack up to the IV? Can I get a good clean and dist out of a III? Im in a very rural area and wont have a chance to try one before I buy.
Thanks!

Hey Dave, The lead sound on the mark IV will blow the lead tone on the mark III away hands down. In comparison the mark IV is worth every penny, but the mark III can be bought fairly cheap right now. The mark III isn't a bad choice, it doesn't have as much gain as the recto does and there will be a learning curve to dialing in tones. Are you going to be buying a new amp head ? or selling your recto and buying a new one?

Hi....

I disagree with Nick here. Tonewise, I think a Mark III can be every bit as good as a Mark IV, both clean and dirty. Although more or less similar, Mark III sounds rawer, which to some might be perceived as more gain. The powerful presence knob can be used to tame this.

The downside is that, due to the shared control, you can't dial in the three channel of the Mark III to sound good at the same time. I think most guys are using them as a two channel amp, which is what you're after anyway. That said, I have yet to find a sound that I like from channel 2 of my Mark IV, so it's practically a 2 channel amp right now. :(

Mark IV has a separate eq, better reverb, even more switches, and higher resale value. That's it. If you decide to get a Mark III, look for the red or green stripe, with simul-class and graphic eq. Nevermind the reverb. Good luck.

~trem