Tighten up the bottom end on my roadster

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

knotts

Reaction score
Hey guys. I've been playing my roadster for the past 2 years and as much as I love it, there's something I don't like about what I'm hearing. I think it's the result of a loose or flubby bottom end. It's more noticeable in the mix and just muddies things up a little. Part of me thinks that this is just the why rectifiers are and comes as part of their sound. I think cutting the gain back will have a positive impact. I run with my gains set between 9 and 12 at the most, and the volumes are set between 12 and 3 on each channel. Master is set to 9 and attenuated to keep the peace. Any thoughts or suggestions on how to tighten it up would help.

Yeah, it's more or less part of the package. What makes a Recto a Recto.

That said, the traditional 'remedy' would be a Tube Screamer or an equivalent pedal, which essentially cuts certain frequencies so they won't 'mud up' the low end of your amp. And since it's a pedal, you can kick it in only when you need it, leaving the rest of your sounds unchanged.

I've also seen Recto players completely zero their Bass pots.

If you want to go with the stock amplifier, you can try to either use boost pedal in front or/and EQ in the loop as already suggested. This will easily tighten up the tone.