Sequence of signal stages in Mark V

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Induktionator

Reaction score
I spent some time going through the schematic to work out the major signal stages of this amp. I didn't find someone else had posted this, so here it is. I hope this information is helpful to someone.

This information is pretty raw, I haven't messed around with formatting it nice. Maybe it would be easier to understand in a more graphical (Block diagram) form, but I'm an engineer, not a graphic designer. Maybe some frequent questions are helped by knowing the sequence your signal goes through between the guitar and the speakers, and which controls affect the others further down the line. It's interesting that the gain and treble/mid/bass and master volume controls aren't in the same order in the 3 channels.

The channel choice and the FX loop settings affect the main signal flow. The channel modes (clean, fat, etc) mostly just switch different combinations of components in/out of the circuit but without affecting the overall flow. I didn't say anything about the power section, it's pretty cool how it gets reconfigured.

Common:
Input
V1A
From here on it is different depending on Ch1/2/3:

Ch1:
V1A
TMB
GAIN
V1B
(Reverb: V4A,springs, V5B, level)
V3A
MASTER
V3B
EQ
From here on it is common (Further below)

Ch2:
V1A
GAIN
V2A
TMB
V1B
V3A
MASTER
EQ
From here on it is common (Further below)

Ch3:
V1A
TMB
V1B
GAIN
V5A
V4B
V3A
V6A
MASTER
EQ
From here on it is common

Common part:
EQ
* Tuner out jack
* Send level,
* FX send/return jacks (Just the jacks are bypassed if the FX footswitch button pressed),
* V6B
* Output, Solo
* The above (*) bypassed in case of True Bypass
Mute
PI (“Presence” NFB here)
Power tubes
OT
8, 4ohm jacks (each pair wired in parallel)
Slave level
Slave out jack