Power cable problem (pics)

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tubescreamer

Reaction score
I looked at the largest prong of my power cable (ground?) for my tremoverb head (attached cord version) and I noticed a burned in like hole on the end of it. It almost looks charred. I took a quick snapshot on my phone so I apologize for the poor quality shot but you can still see the hole there.

SSPX0262resize.jpg

I dont know enough about tube amps to know if this is affecting my tone at all. I'm a tube noob you could say.

thanks

It's called arcing. When the 117V wall supply is loose or the plugs get dirty the 117V basically cannot make contact. When it does, it sends a small bolt of electricity to the plug and arc. It usually carbonizes the plugs and can possibly melt the metal. It will look like a small spot weld. A good cleaning with fine sand paper may repair the plug, but a good power conditioner or a very high quality surge protector will help.

If it's a TOV with the IEC cord, I would just replace it. It's basically a computer cord.

well thanks for the info. I don't know how soon I can get that fixed, but is there anything this is doing wrong to my amp? or would it be ok to leave it that way for a while

thanks boogiebabies!