Played with 2 cabs this weekend, big volume difference -Why?

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tele_jas

Reaction score
Hi all..... I played an outdoors gig this weekend and it rocked!!! But, I have a question for you all: I had my Triple Rectifier hooked up to two 16 ohm cabinets, one 2x12 and one 4x12 and I plugged them into the 8 ohm speaker outs (figured this out from a previous question on the board). When I started playing, I could bearly hear the 4x12 cab, but the 2x12 was VERY loud. Is this normal? When I unplugged the 2x12 the 4x12 got louder and the same thing when I unplugged the 4x12 the 2x12 got louder. So they were both working, but should it be that way? Is it normal for the 2x12 to be alot louder than a 4x12?

I bought a 2nd 4X12 last week and noticed the bottom cab seems alot lower in volume than the top and put it off to the top being more in your face I will try swapping them around tonight to see if it makes a difference.

I think it could be outputs ?

That's not the case with mine since I had them side by side and the 4x12 is a slat cab so it should have been blowing my ears off since it points at my head and the 2x12 points at my knees. I hope it's just a wattage distribution thing (spliting it up between the speakers) and not my outputs going out.

tele_jas said:
I hope it's just a wattage distribution thing (spliting it up between the speakers) and not my outputs going out.

This is what I was leaning towards a power distribution issue

Like I said I was just going to put it off to it being the fact that it was on bottom so maybe most if not all have this issue and just never noticed before having it the other way around I would think it would even itself out if it is indeed the output distribution.

I will switch the plugs tonight and see if it makes a difference.

it would make sense that the 2x12 is louder and heres why: