New Guy MkIII Question

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AMG1

Reaction score
First I'd like to say hi and tell you what a great board this is. I'm a Boogie guy and I'm thrilled to have come across this place.

I've been playing Boogies for several years and currently own a MkIV, a Lonestar and a Blue Angel. As of today I've also become the proud owner of a MkIII purple stripe long head. Its funny I walked into this music store to try and find some composite strings, which they did'nt have, when I saw the MkIII. Somehow it followed me home. :D

Now for the question.

I think its a 100 watter rather than a similclass but I'm confused because of the tube arrangement.

It has a full power/half power switch on the front.

The store where I got it has it running EL 34's in the outside sockets. I called Mesa and they told me if it was a simil it would have a golf ball sized sticker on the front or reminents of glue where the sticker was if it somehow came off. It shows no signs of a sticker ever being present.

One thing I saw above the power cord on the back is a black marker hand written S/C . Mesa was'nt sure what that was. Does it mean similclass?

Theres nothing on the back to the far right where the class A switch would normally be.

Mesa did say the EL34's could be used but would burn out quicker. So I'm wondering if the S/C means similclass or if the old owner just used EL34's in the outside sockets and was'nt concerned about tube life.

Thanks for any help I can get in advance and I'll be seeing you guys around the board. Boogies Rule!

It might help If you could post pictures of the back panel and the board. It is possible that it was converted from 100/60 to similclass no?

Could be . I should be able to post some pics tomorrow.

The amp sounds great and all seems well.