my mark iic+ -- get no distortation.

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

axelfatu

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I recently purchased a used mark iic+ amp on ebay and I got it serviced by a local Mesa Boogie technician in NJ.

So far this amp has amazing clean sounds, but I am not able to activate the distortion. I have pulled all the knobs and it is set to around 5 each setting. Someone told me that the Lead Drive knob sets the distortation off along with the Volume.

The repair shop is closed now and I was wondering if anyone had any ideas on what could be wrong. Like I said when all the knobs are pulled, I am still getting clean sounds, no distoration. I'll attach pics..

DSC00165(1).JPG

DSC00166(2).JPG

Note: The settings are not set to 5 in the pics

Thank you for any suggestions... Sorry I am a newbie with this AMP.

my first guess is the LDR, the relay that triggers the lead distortion channel, is faulty. I don't know how to fix these things though. Take it back to the tech...He shouldn't charge you $$ because this is something he should've picked up the first time he was servicing it. good luck.

Since you are a noob, I would start with the manual:
http://www.mesaboogie.com/manuals/Mark%20II-C%20Manual%20-%20Maintenance%20&%20Repair.pdf

The Lead channel can be engaged by pulling the Lead Drive control if you do not have the footswitch.

The Mark III manual can be used as well, it's a little more informative. Just ignore the R2 information:
http://www.mesaboogie.com/manuals/Mark%20III.pdf

Chris... 8)