My First Mesa! DC-5...But need Help/Suggestions Please

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

glawk

Reaction score
So I just bought my first mesa...its a DC-5A Head and im running it into a mesa recitifier 2x12 cabinet. I love the clean channel...I got it to sound just like a BF fender.

However, im having a few issues with the lead channel. The amp came with some GT power tubes and also electro harmonix 12ax7's for preamp tubes. I don't think there is anything wrong with the tubes, but the distortion is awfully buzzy for my taste. I heard a lot about the smooth mesa gain...but it seems as buzzy as the time I plugged a boss MT-2 into my fender.

Could this be the preamp tubes? If I want as smooth distortion as possible what are some good tubes to sub in?

Also, I just bought the eventide timefactor. I am new to this parallel loop stuff...I tried putting it in the front of the amp but it had some noise even when bypassed..

What is the best way to use the eventide with this amp? Should I have killdry on and which bypass mode is best?

Thanks in advance!

First of all, welcome to the board, bathroom's on the right.

Everybody's taste is different, of course, but I really liked the "Mesa kit" Dougstubes has. Tell him you have a DC-5 with six preamp tubes and he will send the correct set. You should just retube any used amp you buy, anyway.

Check out this thread for some other mods, etc...

If you have a "killdry" option you should turn it on.