MK-III or DC-5

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

guitardirky

Reaction score
Im looking to get another boogie and am looking for something with the 5 band option. I have not decided whether I want a combo or head. Im a blues/rock/country/jazz guitarist so what do you guys think? I own an express 5:50 head and work in music store that is a boogie dealer so ive got plenty of stuff to toy with.

Hmm well since i'm a DC-5 owner my answer is obviously biased!

I chose the DC-5 over the MkIII though because i liked the grittier, more ballsy tone of the DC-5. As for head vs. combo, i have the combo, but i actually much prefer the sound of the amp through a closed back cab. I play it through my Orange PPC112 at the moment which is loaded with a V30 and i like that more than the C90 for my style (indie rock/post hardcore stuff). It sounds punchier and much more defined through a closed back imo. I'm actually looking for a Thiele at the moment if i can get it at a good price!

I also own a DC-5, but I would take the MKIII, if only for the different power options, if you get Simul-Class.

I own both ...and HAVE to keep them both. They are just that good, but have a different enough voice that I can "justify" keeping both. There are threads comparing the two ...check out the archives. If I can give it to you in a nutshell:

- the DC5 has nice warm cleans, but always seems to have some hair around the edges; MKIII can stay spanky clean and LOUD. Much more clean headroom, but also cleans sound "bigger" and more SF Fendery.

- the DC5 OD is a bit smoother and modern; the MKIII is more rude and "in your face" in a great "classic rock" way, (funny my assessment is different from blacklight's. Different opinions, eh :) And the MKIII also has much more highs and "edge" on tap.