Mark IV - odd tube combinations

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

yfeefy

Reaction score
Has anybody (else) tried this:

JJ 6v6s in class A (plate voltage is 404 in tweed mode, which should be perfectly safe) - I've been doing this for a couple months and it sounds great, esp. the clean and r2 channels. Going to simulclass with these tubes really hurts the sound because the middle pair are very underbiased) I have the 8 ohm speaker in the 4 ohm jack.

Here's what i want to try:

6v6 in outer sockets, substitube/yellowjacket el84 in inner sockets on tweed/simulclass setting - seems this would work and provide a nice sound, or at least be a fun experiment.

yfeefy
I haven't tried this but I am thinking of doing.
Thanks for your post because it seems to rule out the 4x6v6 option.
But it seesms the 2x6V6 is worth hearing
I wanted to try YJ/EL84s in the outer sockets as a low-power option using class A mode.

BUt in simulclass I can see I'd have to move them to inners and put 6V6s outside (or stick with 6L6s in the middle)

Which of the Groove Tubes substitute options would you be using ?
I'm thinking it would be:

928 for the outer pair in class A
928-PR for the inner pair
Not sure for the outer pair in simulclass

(And it has to be tweed setting when there are any 6V6s ?)

Thanks
Dave