mark iv and power tubes

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aramism

Reaction score
ok heres the deal. i'm gettign a used mark iv (B) from 1995 with the stock tubes the old fat mesa tubes.

i have limited knowledge about the differences in tube brands. i understand that there is the el34 marshall type low gain piercing tube and the 6L6 american mesa recto type uber power tube. i know about them and love them but don;t know the difference. i have a road king with stock mesa 6l6 tubs. I like the 6L6 tubes for the power.

the point im makign and the question im asking is the following: since it's an old amp i am having the seller ship it to mesa for basic servicing and retubing. since it is a vintage amp and i am after the elusive lead tone of the iv/iic+ to compliment my chug chug road king recto tone should i just have mesa put in the stock tubes or what do i do? how big is the difference in different tube brands. i believe they are different brands and from differnt countries. ive heard like JJ or something like that, or rudy or ruby stuff like that.

please help.

Oh what you started I have a feeling allot of people are going to chime in on this thread!

In the power section of the Mark IV you can run the following.

Class A or simul-class with (4) 6L6 power tubes
Class A or simul-class with (4) 5881 power tubes

Class A or simul-class with (2) 6L6 power tubes & (2) EL34’s
When running class A with this setup just the EL34’s are engaged.
When running simul-class the mixture of the 6L6’s & EL34’s is sweet this is my current configuration
All the above can be run with pentode or triode
Or the last is to run (4) 6V6’s
This setup can only be run with tweed power and simul-class
All the above are available right out of the box no mod’s needed

Then there are the yellow jackets, which are basically adapters for EL84’s