Mark IIB questions

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

groovetuber

Reaction score
I am curious as to what upgrades can be done to the Mark IIB. I found one that has the graphic EQ and Reverb and it's the standard 60 watt version. Is it possible for it to be upgraded with the capability of switching between 100 and 60 watts. I'm sure there would have to be quite a bit done to it, but I'm just curious if it can be done. Also, what are your thougts on wooden cabs and wicker grills? How does it affect the sound. I've gotten a bit of input on that, but I thought I might as well ask everyone here. Thanks much!

I'm no technician expert but the transformers (power[?] and output) would have to swamp out for larger transformers. Then two extra sockets needs to be drilled for the 6L6 sockets.

I would have the effect loop improved even if you don't have use the effect loop it improves the reverb's tone. My IIB had a "tubby" reverb until Mike Benedilli [msp] made this mod.

Personally I would keep it a 60 watts amp => If you are into "driving the power stage tubes" to hit the "sweet spots" you don't have to kill your ears. Unlike 100/60 watts Boogies, your output transformer is a 60 watts output transformer and you could saturated the transformer hitting the sweet spots.

Eveyone makes a big deal having multi-watt tube amps, but owning alot smaller tube amps, I realize that saturating output transformer is a key to hitting the "sweet spots".

But then again, this bulliten board is leaned toward high gain which "sweet spot" are more guitarists prefering saturating low power guitar tube amps. No flame here, just preference what you want out a tube amp. :wink: