Leave it run? turn if off? or Standby? between sessions? LLS

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rojoyinc

Reaction score
I'm new to tube amps. I picked up the champion600 and LOVED IT - which made my want the LSS even more. So I bought one of those too.

I'm a bit panic'd since I don't have any close repair facilities and from what I read on here - PEOPLE HAVE A LOT OF PROBLEMS! with the LSS.

(well or they sell a lot and only those with problems post).

anyway - to try and limit usage and problems... whats best?

TURN it off between playing sessions? My problem is - type on computer and often jump to guitar and play for 20 minutes, then back to the computer for 30-60 minutes then play guitar another 20 minutes... this goes on all day.

Is it best to turn off the LSS between sessions? (to save tube and amp life?) or is it best to go to standby and leave it powered up? (keeping it warm allways) or warm/cold/warm/cold/warm cold.

I never know if I should leave it run - or turn it off.

ALSO - is it okay to TOUCH the tubes during swapping their positions or replacement? I know it's not good to touch some quartz light bulbs... but that's due to extreme heat. I don't suspect this is also true for the touching (getting human oils on tubes?) any care and feeding info would be appreciated. I did read that I'm suppose to keep it in standby for 30 seconds after POWER ON. To help save on tube life.

anything else?

touching tubes is fine, but let em cool first.

as far as leaving your amp on, it probably just depends on how long you want your tubes to last. just play a couple hours, turn it off, and spend the rest of the day on the computer :p