Help me re-tube my Triple Rectifier!

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sawtoothgrin

Reaction score
It's time for a re-tube and I'm a complete novice when it comes to tubes. Right now it's got six EH 6L6's and three of the 5U4G's. I think the 12AX7's are stock. To me, it sounds too bass-y. :x The bass also sounds really loose. I mostly play high gain metal, and right now it's just not doing it's job. :(

If anyone could help me out, I'd really appreciate it. I'm just bassically looking to steer away from all the bass and throw in some tubes to help brighten the amp up a little... although I know that the Rectifier series are bass heavy to begin with.

Any suggestions at all would be appreciated :D
Thanks!

The only name you need to know in re-tubing: Bob at http://www.eurotubes.com/index.htm. He knows more about tubes than everybody combined on the earth :shock: , well that may be a bit of an exageration.. but he would be able to help you choose tubes and is great about getting back to you in a day or two.

If it were me, I'd check in to the EL34's if you're looking for a tighter, less bassy sound. I did a comparison a couple months ago in my Tremoverb and the EL34's sound more of what you're looking for:
* Less low end
* a tighter low end
* the high-mids are brought out a bit more
* and the cleans were a bit more "Spanking" (for lack of better words)

I'd also get rid of the 5ua rectifier tubes and get the smaller GZ34's tubes that sound tighter.

Give Bob a shout and then keep us informed on how it all turns out. You don't have to go through eurotubes, you can pick up EL34's at any store that sells tubes.. Mesa EL34's will work great too.... But if you're looking for a more "customized" tone, then go to eurotubes... Plus, he has packages where he's cheaper than most other places.

PS.. Welcome to the board!