GE 6L6 GC for a Mark 1?

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm thinking about picking up 2 matched NOS GE 6L6GC for my Boogie Mk 1. I'll be replacing a couple of JJ's. Any recommendations or comments on the possible tonal variations?

*I'm rather new to the tubes and am looking for a bit warmer tone.

My opinion of the GE's over the JJ's is that they will be warmer,more balanced in general.I find the JJ's to be very harsh,with a shrill,metalic high end,but if you've read any of my posts I would talk up almost any NOS 6L6 over the JJ's.Mavguy or T.Wolf could give you a much more detailed critique of the differences.Be sure the GE's are in the right bias range for your amp,better yet,do an adjustable bias mod so you can find the "sweet spot" for those tubes,you're paying premo $$ they should sound and perform their best.

I'm not sure how to determine the bias on my amp. I just picked it up. It's a '77 Mark 1. The shrill sound is what I dislike about the amp. I was attibuting it to the Altec, but it may very well be the tubes. Would I have to take it to a tech?