Finding the right Boogie for me

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dbsens03

Reaction score
Since I was a freshman in High School and my best friend bought a Single Rectifier and let me play it I've wanted a Boogie. That was 12 years ago. I still have yet to own one, but will finally be able to buy one in the next month or two. Through out the years I've done a great deal of research and I've played quite a few of them. As of late I've narrowed my decision to two (possibly 3) Boogies. Road King II v.2, or Mark V (the possible third one being a Roadster) I'd love some feedback from owners of these bitchin' amps. Also, I am curious about the Road King I. Does it have progressive linkage also like the RKII? I know the RKII has the LoneStar cleans and reverb as well as the improved effects loop, but the progressive linkage is one of the main things that draws me to this amp. I love the Mark series, but am wondering if it'll be ballsy enough for my taste. I enjoy playing everything from your very clean, acoustic-like sounding soft rock/jazz/church music to in your face Lamb of God/Norma Jean/August Burns Red metal/hardcore stuff. Anyway, any and all feedback will be much appreciated. Thanks.

From what you described.... the Road King or Roadster would suit you best.

I personally prefer the Mark Series ...so try them all out.

Good luck.

If Progressive Linkage is a big thing for you, then the Road King is it. I had a Roadster prior to my Mark V, and I really liked it except for the gain channels didn't quite get me where I wanted to be. I'm happier personally with the Mark V.

If you can, try them out side-by side into identical cabinets so you can hear the differences in each, then make your decision from there. For me, the Roadster sounded best in a Recto 2x12 (V30s), and the Mark V works better with a 3/4 back 2x12 (C90s).