Dual Caliber Question

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

prsman88

Reaction score
I am new to mesa combos. I have had alot of people talk about Studio 22, Dc-3, Dc-5 etc.

Cound someone please explain the difference in these amps?

idk if the studio is a dual caliber... haha

i am just on the look out for a 112 combo in the 4-500 range that has a good clean and nice crunch sound. i like the "marshall crunch" but i don't trust those amps so i am looking for just a good sounding versitile combo.

whats the best dual caliber for me, if one fits this category...

thanks

I own a DC-2 Studio Caliber and may be able to give you some info. The DC-2, DC-3, DC-5 and DC-10 are all from the same series. The differences are primarily wattage and power section, with the DC-2 and DC-3 being EL-84 driven and the DC-5 and DC-10 6L6 driven. The DC-2 is the lowest rated combo at 25 watts, and does not have a GEQ that all of the others share.

In my opinion, any of the Caliber series amps would be a good choice. The Dual Calibers give you independent controls for the two channels, which may be a plus for you over the original Caliber series that have just one set of controls for the two channels. Speaking from experience, my DC-2 is the loudest 25 watt amp I have ever heard, and sounds almost as loud as some of the 40 watt combos I have owned or tried in the past. I personally do not miss the GEQ, but if you can find a DC-3, DC-5 or DC-10 you will have more sound shaping options available with the GEQ. I like both channels, and use both channels. I do not know how a Caliber series amp would compare to a Marshall, but I think they sound somewhat like a Mark series amp and I enjoy the tone (I love Mark series amps, so I may be biased in this regard).