Anybody done the bias pot mod on a Dual Recto? Opinions?

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sleepingtiger

Reaction score
I'm thinking of re-tubing with JJ's from Eurotubes & am considering his suggestion of adding a bias pot. Any experiences with this mod? Necessary? Improvements?
Sorry if this is redundant...I'm a newbie here!
Thanks,
Tony

Bob sells some nice tubes. That said, don't do it. I've heard Rectos pre and post mod. Not worth the effort. There are other, less permanent ways of changing your tone that do more good.

Remember, to a hammer all problems are nails.

-P

Thanks, but I WOULD like to have options other than Boogie tubes or "cooler" 6L6's. Say I get some brand X tubes, get the head baise the usual way & don't like 'em. I have to keep getting components changed?
I'm not trying to argue, but is this what all the non-Boogie tube users do?
Tony

Just ask him to give you tubes which are in the normal bias range for a mesa.

He knows his stuff, its true, and he is the tube master. But really all his stuff about how mesas are biased really cold and how its really bad, take it with a grain of salt.