Roadster and Multi Watt Recto Lead Tones

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Slyfox

Reaction score
reetings,

Long time reader, first time poster.

I've had limited hands on experience with rectifiers over the years but from what I have had, it's always been a struggle to dial out the fizz and thinness in single note lead tones.  A friend lend me his roadster recently and I've experimented with leads on channel 3 and 4, different combinations of all switches and functions...so far the closest to something I really was inspired to play was the channel 3 raw mode, tube tracking, bold or spongy depending on volume....lower gain, but then a rat pedal with a slight clean boost from a plumes OD.  Might seem excessive but with raw mode and spongy, it is not a lot of amp gain.

It wasnt until I came across a posting, I think it was on here or TGP where a fella said he struggled with a smooth singing lead tone and tried putting all the EQ knobs on 0.  I tried that and it certainly smoothed it out.  As soon as I touch the mid or treble the raspiness comes back.  It's a shame a 4 channel amp with all these functions and the best lead tone I had is turning them all to 0. 

My question is, is adding a 5 or 6 band EQ in the loop help out with the raspiness at all? I would like to be able to use the amp eq to sculpt some tones.

My second question is, is a current production multi watt dual rectifier voiced much different than the roadster I'm borrowing?  Am I going to have any easier time dialing a smooth lead on a current recto?

I did have a Mark IV some years back and was always a nice lead tone but I'm looking for something different these days.

Any feedback or long ramblings of your experiences would be helpful.

I had a Roadster in 2009 and now have a 2022 modern Dual Rec Multi Watt.