A new one I'm working on. critique the mix

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FastRedPonyCar

Reaction score
Song's called Res Ipsa (latin)... new song our band is working on..well... one I wrote that everyone now has to learn. The empty spots in the song (as well as the beginning) is supposed to have the bassist chugging the main riff by himself before the guitars come in.

I layered 2 rythem tracks panned 100% left and the other right and 2 lead tracks that mimic most of the rythem until a couple of parts where it strays away and during the chorus, the lead tracks do octave chords.

Biggest hurdle is teaching our drummer to do the insane fills that EZ drummer lets me do :D

I'm mainly focused on the actual mix of how the instruments and drums are blending, etc. I spent pretty much all day on it and I'm still learning as I go. I know it clips here and there. I'm having trouble keeping that under control...heck, the guitar tracks are all sitting at -15dB being mixed back up with the Waves SSLEQ/Comp.

Again, the silence at the beginning will eventually have a bassist doing his thing.

I sent this and the lyrics to our singer to start working on the vocal pattern/structure and making whatever changes he sees fit as the drummer actually was the one that wrote the words before there was much of a song to go with it.

http://www.drewlankford.com/Music/ResIpsa3.mp3

Let me know what you guys think and what can be improved upon or changed and if any of you play drums, I'd be interested in hearing if the drums are ok or if they need changing as well. I know zero about drum arrangements.

Not a bad track. Too repetitive for my tastes, I prefer more progressive stuff, but that's fine. Your guitaring seems out of time in places too, but maybe it's just a weird up-beat.