Tremoverb v.s. blue angel/maverick v.s. orange ad140

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jfrusciante17

Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm looking to get some advice from some experienced Boogie users as to what amp I should get. I've been playing guitar for about 7 years now, but until this point I've been using a 65' fender bassman head through an old fender cab that was a hand-me-down from my uncle; in other words, I've never bought my own amp before. Anyway, after doing some research I've become very interested in the Tremoverb, the blue angel, and the maverick, as well as the ad140 from orange at the suggestion from a friend. I'm primarily a single coil player, using a 98 deluxe strat with Lindy Fralins, and a G&L bluesboy Asat hollowbody, though I've also got an old Guild s-100 with humbuckers. Anyway, I'm looking for an amp that will give my strat and g&l a big fat SRV/Hendrix kind of blues tone, but also a thick rage against the machine/Chili peppers kind of rock sound. And finally, I'd like to have a little more crunch to get a good Tool/incubus sound. I know it seems like I ask for a lot out of an amp, but from what I've researched, the boogies have the versatility to get close to the sounds I want. So I ask for you help; which of these amps will get me the closest to the tone's I'm looking for: the Tremoverb, blue angel/maverick, or the orange?
Thanks for your help!

The Tremoverb seems like a good option, considering it has a channel for each of the tones you mentioned. :)

If you decide to go with that, I'd snatch the one that's on ebay right now. They don't come around too often, it took a while for me to find mine.

You do realize among these three Boogie, they're all discountinued and you have to find one for sale used.