Thinking about Mark V (or IV) with a 2x12 vertical cab

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jiveman

Reaction score
Hello everybody! It's my first time on the board. I'm thinking about getting Mark V (or perhaps even a Mark IV) and joining the family! :D

I've just started looking at various online prices and haven't decided yet to go with new or used. But in either case, I'm wondering how well would the IV/V pair with a 2x12 vertical combo (such as the 2x12 Vert Slant Recto with V30s). How much punch and low end would you loose compared to a 4x12?

To give you some background.... I play in a more-or-less Prog Metal band... Some recording, some gigging... Among the covers, we do a variety of stuff like Tool, Dream Theater, Avenged Sevenfold, Killswitch Engage, etc. I'm not looking for a brutal metal-sound, and I'm pretty sure Mark IV or V would be more than suitable-enough for my needs. So far, I've been playing through a Marshall Valvestate 2x12 combo, and this would be a major upgrade in every way. The places we play range from small bars to decent-size clubs (where the amps would be mic'd). I'm not really concerned with volume of the 2x12, but more the punch and tone.

Depending on how much money I end up spending on the amp, I may or may not have to go with a cheaper option (the 2x12), but I'd like to know my options first.

Also, would a medium-size Mark head fit nicely over the 2x12 vertical cab, or would I have to go with a short head (which means Mark IV, right, as I only see medium heads for Mark V)?

Oh, and, one more question.... If I need to play metal with Mark IV, like I said already, should I be concerned with version A vs. version B difference? I've been reading about version B heaving more gain on Rhy. 2 channel.

Thanks!