Roadster - can it get smooth gain tones?

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mikebat

Reaction score
Hello all,

I am a real newbie to the Mesa world, I always admired from afar, but kept my JCM800 rig.

I need much more flexibility, and I am thinking about a Roadster. It has the flexibility I need, but I am wondering about the drives tones.

I LOVED the Lonestar clean tones, but the driven tones, while great, only went so far. I am looking for a rig that has those Lonestar-esque clean tones, some semi dirty classic rock tones, some heavy driven tones that do not lose the guitar's voice and get buzzy, and the occasional crushing heavy tones.

On teh surface, the Roadster seems to fit the bill, but I am worried that my Strats and Teles will lose their voice, and the drive tones will become nu-metal-ish. (as close as a single coil can get that).

What are your experiences? Can I get that singing, big round tone, with sustain, and definition? I will rarely ever need that scooped EQ tone.

Let me know! I am trying one out tonight and would like you opinions.

Cheers!

You'll fight a Roadster to no end.
You'll post many threads here asking how to change that leopard's spots.
You'll spend hours and many dollars on tubes in a vain effort to get a smooth, sustaining tone.
You'll spend way too much money on OD pedals and EQ pedals.
You'll end up selling it and probably taking a small loss in the process.

Or you can get a Mark V and have the sound that you described.

I suggest you try one and form your own opinion.
I still say you'd be happiest with a Mark V based on what you said you were looking for in an amp but who knows. A lot of adjectives get thrown around when discussing amps and guitar tone so one man's scoopy nu-metalz tone could be another man's sustaining liquid lead tone.

Gotcha.