rack/road case suggestions

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mejoshee

Reaction score
anyone have preferred vendors? names like affordable-cases, anvil, etc. get thrown around. who's got a reasonably priced, sturdy, medium/heavy duty line of products?one company i got a quote for was "get off my case" cases, for $350/mesa head (like a mark amp). seems reasonable, though i've seen lower prices and don't know if the bargain ones on ebay are all their cracked up to be.

for clarification, i'm not a traveling musician, unless you count loading stuff in and out of my car to take it to places like church and what not. i don't think i intend to travel with this stuff, so it's mostly just for keeping everything intact for when i take it out of the house. i have a mark iv med head, a mark v combo (may soon be a head also) and a couple ideas on a rack setup--effects, controller/switchers, etc.

i'd like a case that i could just leave a bunch of effects plugged into each other, then turn on the power supply/conditioner, connect cables to the amp and guitar, and rock, either in a portable setting or sitting together in a home studio sort of way.

is there a good way to estimate the number of rack spaces you'll need? i've tried to estimate roughly and then i always think, well that's a lot of spaces to carry all my gear in. maybe i should break them up into more than one case for easier handling. but then you have to buy multiple ones and it's not proportional for cases based on rack units.

basically i don't want to break the bank (wouldn't we all?), but i don't want to get ripped off using a crappy brand only to have things fall apart on me even though i mostly just have gear sitting around.

mejoshee said: