Questions on the Roadster & Rectifiers

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wired

Reaction score
What's up guys, this is my 1st post. I'm looking to try a Roadster 2x12 combo, but I'm wondering if someone can give me some quick info on what the difference is w/ rectifier amps.

I've been playing a Peavey 5150 for the last 15 years, but I'm looking for more versatility, a good clean channel & the 50/100 watt flexibility sounds like it would work well for smaller clubs. But, I also want to be able to have a strong lead channel w/ enough sustain.

Seeing that both amps use 12ax7's in the preamp & 6L6's in the output section, what do the rectifier tubes do for your tone?

I appreciate any advice you can offer.

wired said:
Seeing that both amps use 12ax7's in the preamp & 6L6's in the output section, what do the rectifier tubes do for your tone?

I think what most people would say is that the silicon diodes make the amp more responsive to percussive attacks (i.e. more punchy when chugging away) while the rectifier tubes will make it more "saggy" or "loose".

I am sure you get the idea of the amp being more punchy but when it comes descriptions like "saggy" or "loose", that is a difficult one to describe.

I think the best thing is to go try one and spend some considerable amount of time with it. I would also suggest trying different cabs since that can affect the response of the amp.

Good luck.

Z

I'd say the Roadster is for you. I had a 5150 for 5 years before going with a Rectoverb. I then traded the ROV in on a Dual Rectifier. The 5150 is a great amp but I definitely think the Roadsters are more bang for the buck.

Vaccum tubes in vintage give you that nice warm distortion great for classic rock stuff or high gain. The cleans are great as well.