Neil Young, Mark Knopfler, Santana Tone On The Mark V?

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SpiderWeb

Reaction score
I have spent quite a bit of time going through the "Tone Settings" sticky. Nobody has ever posted some of my favorite tones. I have been experimenting, but at this point, I'm thinking that I may be trying to re-invent the wheel. Would any of you have suggestions for settings that would be in the ball park for the tone of Neil Young, Mark Knopfler, Santana? As I explained in the other thread I started, I'm kind of new at this and for all I know the Mark V "doesn't do" these tones and I need a pedal or two. I would be open to suggestions and ideas for that idea as well. TIA

You shouldn't have ANY problem getting any of those tones straight out of the Mark V, pedals not included. Neil Young tone would be something like the clean channel with a touch of gain and LOTS of volume - really driving the power section. Santana tone should be cake in the IIC+ mode with your neck pickup. Not sure about the Mark Knopfler tone, though....which songs/album? He used so many amps ( including Boogies ). Also, what guitar are you using? Pickups? Cab? Key us in.

Take this as a grain of salt since I'm not a Mark V owner (yet), but what I consider Santana's tone is readily available in channel 2's Mark I mode.

ifailedshapes said:
Take this as a grain of salt since I'm not a Mark V owner (yet), but what I consider Santana's tone is readily available in channel 2's Mark I mode.

+2

It is( I am Mark V owner) Mark I for the early versions (Abraxas) and IIC from Cravanserai onwards.In these days also Dumble's then

Roland

Yup, forgot about that Mark I mode - that's definitely early Santana all the way.

Neptical said: