Need Help, Lone Star Special 112 or 212?

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Resonator

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to this forum. I played my American Deluxe Strat through a Lone Star Special 112 yesterday and I've found the amp I've been looking for my whole life. I've been using a Fender Hot Rod DeVille 410 for the past three years. It's a great amp, but it's way to loud for home use. I don't gig anymore. I haven't had the opportunity to try the Lone Star Special 212.

Should I buy the 112 or 212 and why? It's only $100 more for the 212. Is the sound improved with the 212? Although that would be hard to believe.

Any info you can give me on these two options would be greatly appreciated.

I've got more questions swimming around in my head, but I'll go with this one first.

Thanks, Res :?

A 1x12 cab in addition to the 1x12 combo is the way I went. I prefer that total sound as compared to a 2x12.

I went with the 2-12",....didn't try the 1-12",....I figured "why not"?
Like you said ,..only $100 more...

I tried both and bought the 2x12". The reason was that I wanted to move the amount of air I could get from the 2x12". The sound is a bit different (it was a "fuller" sound to me) as you'll get some freq cancellation (as you will with any multi-speaker setup).

As one mentioned above, several folks go with a 1x12" with a 1x12" extension cab, I think primarily to lessen the weight (though I imagine this setup sounds different than a 2x12" as well). I don't have to move my amp much, so i didn't care about any weight issues.

SabuJSE hit the nail on the head.

I have the LSS 1 x 12 combo with the 1 x 12 ext cab. I also use the ext cab with a LSC head and a MAz 38 Sr. head.

It gives so much more flexibility.