Mullard el34's in a rectifier?

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Yes.

Although whether it's safe for your wallet is another matter... since you'll probably want to keep doing it :).

94Tremoverb said:
Yes.

Although whether it's safe for your wallet is another matter... since you'll probably want to keep doing it :).

Tremoverb,

I have a single rec S2 w/3modes in CH2. I put Winged C's and Tung Sols in it, there was a bit of a change, not that much, barely noticable with the gain cranked. In my MKV I made the same tube changes and the difference is more pronounced. Not wanting to offend Rec owners, as I am one too, but using it for chugging in stereo along with my MKV to add an extra bit of width and grind. It does not seem to matter that much what tubes are in the Rectifier. I am new to owning a Rectifier and may just be ignorant on tweaking it. I put the Sovteks back in the Rec and it was not very discernable to my ear. The REC seems to just chug happily and sound great on any decent quality tube. The only thing that makes it sound better is to play it loud. Baby likes to make a little racket :mrgreen:

Is there a tube that brings a serious change to the Single REC? I have no complaints with it as it is. It is the perfect companion to a MKV. If it is not too tall of a $ tube I am willing to give it a shot.