Mesa Roadking

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

andrew_1990

Reaction score
Hey guys,
Im new to ths forum iv just gotten into mesa and i just love them. Well im thinking about buying a roadking but they are really expensive i used to want a Marshall jcm 800 with a super overdrive but mesa has the pure crunch i need. If i got a roadking would there be any need for me to use my SD-1 for leads? Please just tell me abit about them amp. Im into players like Petrucci, Laiho, Paul Gilbert, Randy, Steve Vai, Yngwie those type of guys.
Thanks

Roak King II is really a great amp. I think a boost pedal in front of a rectifier is never bad to achieve smooth solos (but the vintage mode alone would give you a great tone too). Absolutely no need for it for heavy rhythms, pure modern Mesa high gain!

OD's are not needed with the RK but that doesn't mean you can't use one. It's a great way to get a different, smoother lead tone as has been said already. See what it does when you drop the gain setting on the OD to 0 and just bump the level.

Toit!

andrew_1990 said:
Hey guys,
Im new to ths forum iv just gotten into mesa and i just love them. Well im thinking about buying a roadking but they are really expensive i used to want a Marshall jcm 800 with a super overdrive but mesa has the pure crunch i need. If i got a roadking would there be any need for me to use my SD-1 for leads? Please just tell me abit about them amp. Im into players like Petrucci, Laiho, Paul Gilbert, Randy, Steve Vai, Yngwie those type of guys.
Thanks

I agree with cudbucket . You wont need a pedal but having it just adds more versatility . Have you considered checking out a Stiletto or a Mark IV ? I would at least try them .