Mesa Ignorant

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jhadhar65

Reaction score
I'm new to Mesa and I've never owned a Mesa amp (always been a Marhsall guy). Anyway, I'm really intrigued by the heavy recto sound and I'm trying to find out which Mesa amp is considered to be the "holy grail" for heavy rock, i.e. Metallica, etc. I know they use a lot of different amps and not just Mesa, but I'm looking for that deep, rich, bone-crunching heaviness. I guess if a 2203 JCM-800 is the grail as far as Marshall's are concerned, which amp model(s) hold that title in the Mesa camp?

I know this must sound ignorant, but I have no idea and I really want to know. Thanks in advance!

I'm a Mark IV guy myself,

but if I were going for a modern rock tone (ala Nickelback, et al.) I'd get the Rectifier.

No need for the Triple, because how often are you EVER gonna be able to drive a 150 watt amp hard?

Even the dual will be handling the abuse you give it with NO sweat.

If you want Nicklebackish crunchy sound, Rectifier is the way to get it.

The heck with Mesa get a nice roland micro cube and crank that baby and with adding a delay.......hey, get off me, stooooooppppp.....nooooooooo.

Sorry about that guys, my computer was taken over by an evil solid state nerd.....To answer, don't waste your money on a triple...single to dual is fine.

jhadhar65 said:
I'm new to Mesa and I've never owned a Mesa amp (always been a Marhsall guy). Anyway, I'm really intrigued by the heavy recto sound and I'm trying to find out which Mesa amp is considered to be the "holy grail" for heavy rock, i.e. Metallica, etc. I know they use a lot of different amps and not just Mesa, but I'm looking for that deep, rich, bone-crunching heaviness. I guess if a 2203 JCM-800 is the grail as far as Marshall's are concerned, which amp model(s) hold that title in the Mesa camp?