Mark V : 35 or full on Mark V?

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nitefly

Reaction score
Hi there! I'm a newbie to the board so be nice! :p

By way of introduction, I am an amateur guitarist that does not play in a band (bedroom rockstar). I have been playing guitar for 15 years on and off and have now got the bug again. I've decided it's do or die and time to have a jam with others / get in a band... once I get my chops up to scratch! So in short I am nowhere near as experienced as some of you... but not completely useless.

It's been my dream to get a Mesa for years and now I can afford one. I was about to order the Mark V 25 when at the last second I noticed the 35 had come out. I have now put a deposit down on a Mark V : 35 and a rectifier vertical 2x12 cab. Totally over the top for my needs but I understand the low volume tones are decent so, screw it, you only live once! Plus buying this thing will further spur me on, as having a huge amp that isn't played (and played well) would just be embarrassing :oops: :p

I have now gone through almost every single thread on here in anticipating of the gear arriving to the UK in the next few weeks (I didn't want demo'ed gear). However, now it has come to my attention that the full Mark V may actually sound a lot better at lower volumes than the 25 and the 35, due to additional the output knob, which as far as I understand can provide the sounds of the amp working harder at modest volumes. Is this correct?