Mark IV tube replacement suggestions?

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

espmaster1

Reaction score
Hey, I've been a guitarist for about 5 years now, Owned various tube amps but don't necessarily know much about the tubes themselves. I use a Mark IV medium head with a 2X12 Mesa cabinet, and I was just wondering about trying out a new sound. I play pretty much mostly metal, Prog metal like DT of course. I like aggressive rhythm with creamy lead sounds. If anyone would like to share some information with any major down differences tubes can offer, and what tubes specifically do that I would love to learn about it. I know I sound like a bit of a n3wb, but I've got to learn somehow. Thanks.
PS: Does anyone know what tubes JP uses? I can't seem to find it.

Cheers.

Prepare for the onslaught of opinion!
I think speaker changes will have a more immediate and obvious affect. So will new strings, for that matter.
There's no right answer. It ultimately boils down to what sounds good to YOU.

Right now I"m using Black shadow 12's and I like the sound of those. I hear that the Cel's V30 have a creamier sound, smoother that is... Is this true? Favorte speakers in your opinion?

Here's my opinion, I much prefer the V30s with the Mark IV than the MC90

I love GT 6L6GE tubes for the power section.. they've got a great vacuum and they're rounded and punchy in all the right places. I also use a 2x12 recto cab loaded with V30s.

You'll find someone who disagrees completely I'm sure so find what works for you :)

I don't play a lot of metal, but I like the EVM 12L. So does Mr. Z. Wylde. At 200 watts, you can't break 'em. Tons of bottom and clarity.
I think two V30s in a 2 x 12 cab would sound a bit "creamier" than the stock Boogie C90 Black Shadows. The Boogie speakers sound harsher, but that's me.