Mark III replacement tubes?

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Val666

Reaction score
This question obviously get's thrown around a lot but I'm a noob and suck at message forums so here goes.

I just got a Mark III simul-class "green stripe" combo. I was told it was made in either 91 or 92

At some point I'd like to get new tubes for it but I'd want them to match the originals.

Can anyone tell me what tubes I'd need for this amp and where I could get them from???

Also, I've heard stuff about "mods". I'm new to the Boogie scene and would like to know more about this too

Regarding tubes, you can't go wrong with Mesa branded tubes. 6L6s in your inside sockets, EL34s in your outside sockets. They're a safe choice, they're the tubes the amps were designed around in many cases, and if your amp is still under warranty (yours, of course, is not), they're the only tubes you can use that won't void it.

If you feel adventurous, you can go through any of the many online tube retailers - dougstubes.com, valvequeen.com, eurotubes.com, just to name a few. Be sure to let them know you're retubing a Mark III, because Mark series Boogies have a fixed bias that is fairly cold on the inside pair of tubes, and they typically keep aside some warmer tubes that will work well with your amp. The outside sockets of a Simul-Class amp are more forgiving; I've used many different brands of EL34, 6L6, and KT77 in there with interesting results and no ill effects.

As far as mods go, the first rule of modding is: unless you can describe something specific about your amp's tone or performance that you are unhappy with, don't do it! Having said that, a lot of people complain about the volume drop when switching from R1 to R2 on a Mark III, and there are several mods available to address that.

benjamin801 said: