Mark III BS Which EL34's to use?

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

carlosasi

Reaction score
I'm about to purchase new EL 34's from Mesa for my Mark III. They have 2 options Sovtek and Siemens. Which set should I buy? What are the differences?

SED's.

Check out www.dougstubes.com , you will have a better selection at great prices. If your in the Chicago area, Triode Electronics is awesome to deal with. I have NOS Svetlana;s I have been running since 2002 that have yet to drift a single ma. This guy knows how to test, match and burn in a tube. Out of two quads of 6L6's and on quad of EL34's, they were all perfectly matched to the ma and still are after a minumum of 6 months of use. www.triodeelectronics.com . Both Doug and Ned are awesome to deal with, but Ned is a freak about matching at higher voltages and full burn in's. I run an SED/ Old Svetlana #32 6L6 and a # 34 EL34 from Triode and they all draw 35ma, which warm up a Boogie nicely.

Siemens don't really like plate voltages over 460, so they may wear out faster or be more prone to blow. I personally have run Siemens at 483V in the C+, but never for extended periods of time. I'm skeert !!! They sound amazing though.

How do you account for the fixed bias in the Mark III when using non Mesa tubes? Does it matter?

When you order your tubes simply tell them that it is for a Mesa fixed bias amp. I've done this in the past, and assume Doug will accomodate this request as well.

Most of the time, once the vendor hears Mesa, they think they can get rid if cooler tubes. I ordered my Svetlana's with this specific ratings and instead of gettin 20ma, I got 35ma and run a bit closer and warmer towards max plate dissipation. My GT6L6 GE's, STR-415's and Phillips 7581A's all naturally draw around 2oma and still sound awesome.