LTD EC1000/500 and ESP Eclipse II

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Botch

Reaction score
Hi guys, I'll be looking to buy one of these 3 guitars in the next few weeks and would just like your thoughts on them as I know a few of you have some of these guitars.

What are the pros and cons of each? Is the extra money between the 3 models worth it?! Do they sound much different?! Etc, etc! Any thoughts and opinions are greatly appreciated!

I used to work in a store that was an ESP dealer. I've owned Eclipse II's, EC400AT's, and have played a bunch of 500's and 1000's.

One thing to keep in mind is that Eclipses feel and sound VERY different than a Les Paul. They're much thinner and sound more like SG's than LP's.

That said though, they're awesome. Straight from the factory the Eclipse II is going to have a lot more attention to detal, the finish will be nicer, better woods etc. However, with a good setup an LTD can come pretty close. In all honesty, I liked the two LTD EC400AT's that I've had more than the Eclipse II. It's chunkier like a Les Paul and plays and sounds great. I had one with EMG's and one with the stock Duncans and they were both great guitars.

Another thing to keep in mind is that the EC500 and EC1000 are 24 fret guitars, while the Eclipse II is 22.

IMAG0008.jpg

DSC00864.jpg

IMAG0017.jpg

I'm no expert or anything, but all three are awesome guitars.

I really think it would come down to what you want to spend.

On the ones i've played, the 500s and 1000s have felt almost identical. The only real differences are some of the extras it seems. The 1000s come w/ locking tuners and bridges, have more adornments and have more variety in the colors they come in.

I personally have a Viper-1000 and i love it. Currently eying the Olympic White EC-500 as my next guitar.