Lonestar Classic - 6L6's or EL34's?

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

R_Rbnsn

Reaction score
I've owned my Lonestar classic for around a year now and although I love it I've always felt the drive channel left a lot to be desired, often sounding muffled or too mid-rangey for a situation in which the guitar is the primary instrument (a standard rock band for example). I've always thought it sounded great when having only getting the occasional lead line, as in a funk band for example where that smooth mid-rangey tone is good, just not in an electric guitar 'rock' situation.

I've wondered if this may be down to the fact I've been playing through a Marshall for the 9 years leading up to getting a Mesa, and for a while I've been in split minds whether or not to get the Reeder pot swap mod done, but haven't gotten around to it.

Anyway, just out of curiosity today I swapped the 6L6's in the Lonestar for the EL34's out of my Marshall and all of a sudden such a difference! A lot closer to the sound I've been after all this time. Only thing is now I'm unsure whether or not to keep them in there permanently... swapping back and forth between the two depending on the gig.

Does anyone else here run their Lonestar Classic/prefer the sound of it on EL34's?

I've spent some time (and scratch) on various tube approaches, including a long stint with 6V6s running on the EL34 bias setting, mixing them with either EL34s or EL84s (w/THD yellow jackets)... have come around back to using high-quality 6L6s (SED =C= & TADs). This is partly because I spend most of my time playing R&B and funk, and I spend most of my time in that context in the clean channel; if I spent more time in the rock vein, which will probably be happening soon, I might start back up with the EL34s. They do seem to sweeten Ch2 up in a way.