Just fell in love with the blues channel

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GoranS

Reaction score
Wow... :shock:

Ever since I got my Express 5:50 earlier this year I've used nothing but Strats and Tele's.
So this evening I took out my long forgotten Gibson Nighthawk, played a couple of licks
fiddled with the tone controls and... Tone Heaven!!! :D

Just WOW! I'm attending a blues jam-session this weekend and I know what I'm gonna bring!! :mrgreen:
Guitar - Cable - Amp. That's it!

Now back to the guitar before it's too late and everybody wants to sleep...
Just wanted to share!

/Goran

That's what I'd bring to a blues jam. I love the medium gain sounds that my Express 5:50 provides. As a blues guitarist, I had avoided channel switching amps for years because I felt that they all had a very clean channel and a very dirty channel with no in between. The Express excells at in between!

We need to start sharing these settings so other Express owners can try them out. I have seen tons of posts about people finding certain tones, but they always leave me asking, how was it set? Trying the setting would be worth much more then an internet sound clip.

Ok, I hear you FXR!

The blues channels tone controls is not that effective. They are way more sensitive on the clean.
When using my Gibson on the blues channel it did not really matter how the controls were set.
Unless my Express isn't broken the tone controls surprisingly low impact on the sound, some but not what I expected.

So my settings for a Gibson Nighthawk/Blues channel was: Gain 11 - 12 o'clock, treble 9, mid 12, bass 8.
I set the contour at about 11 o'clock when needing some top boost.

/G

GoranS said:
Ok, I hear you FXR!

The blues channels tone controls is not that effective. They are way more sensitive on the clean.