I Want It All Dammit!

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

crestwood1972

Reaction score
Here is what I want ...

1. an amp that sounds GREAT at bedroom levels; plus

2. LSC cleans; plus

3. mark IIC+ leads; plus

4. RKII crunch; plus

5. sells for under $200 (just kidding).

The crunch I can live without but what amp gets me closest to the first 3 on my list? MESA or any other manufacturer.

Help!

Thanks!

Not sure if you've tried the LSC CH2 yet, but I find a LOT of different moods available. I'm new to the BB and I've never heard any of the Marks, but I can coax more styles of lead gain than I can keep track of with my LSC. Maybe someone can recommend a good pedal or EQ setting for you to cop the MKII lead tone ... I'll bet the LS is your amp all by itself.

I definitely love the cleans on the LSC. Of course, you can get them now (so they tell me) on the RKII but that moster is LOUD.

So how does the LSC sound running at 10W? Do the lead tones compare with running it at 50W or 100W?

I'd be using 6L6s not EL34s.

Thanks!

I have the LSC so mine only goes from 100 to 50, but for leads I like the sound of 2 tubes "sweating" more than 4 running cool, so I suspect that in 10 watt mode it would be even nicer.

OK, I REALLY like the RKII.

This comes as close to perfect (for me) as any single amp out there.

But ... how will it sound at apartment/bedroom levels?

Would I be better off getting a low-watt amp so I can drive the tubes?

Will I get a better sound than a volume-down RKII?

I've been reading lately about Emery Sound's Superbaby amps.

6 - 12 watts that I can push and get decent cleans and lead.

Ideas?

RK II is way overkill for bedroom playing. It is an awesome and expensive amp.

I think the Express 5:50 or 5:25 would fit the bill nicely for your requirements. I've had both of them.

OK I'm going WAY out of the box for this one ...