I find the V to be better than the IV in almost every way.

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rufuss Sewell

Reaction score
I've been recording and gigging with a Mark IV B for about 9 years. I recently bought a Mark V and sold my Mark IV. The truth is I've always had a love/hate relationship with my IV. The cleans were pretty good. Channel 2 was pretty much useless to me. And channel 3 had the ability to have a great lead tone OR and great metal rhythm tone, but not both at the same time. So I've been forced to gig with two amps. I'd use the Mark IV for clean and lead and a 2ch Triple Rec for metal rhythm. It was an amazing sounding set up. 5 channels at my feet. Recto: ultra clean and Metal. Mark IV: dirty clean, AC/DC (never really used) and lead. But carrying around all that gear was a huge pain. Plus it would get so confusing with three different pedals for channel switching, The third being my Radial ABY amp switcher. I could also double the lead and metal tones for ultimate havoc. BUT...

The whole time I dreamt of a single amp that could cover my clean, metal and lead tones. AND now I have it! So I feel the need to elaborate:

Channel 1: For me it's all about Fat mode. Some people have derided the reverb in the V but for me in this mode, it sounds amazing. And SO much better than anything the IV could muster. I can just sit and play in this mode forever. It's stunning to me. The other two are nice, but not quite my cup of tea. Tweed will certainly get some recording time for the clean breakup thing though.