Help with my new Mark III - think I got shafted

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

exbest182

Reaction score
I purchased a 60w Mark III red stripe head off of ebay, I got it today and hooked it up.. and right away I noticed issues... Volume cuts out as I'm turning knobs, seems to happen on a couple different knobs.. also, I have no gain... at all.. I'm new to the older marks and pulling this knob and pulling that knob, but I can follow directions. I downloaded the Mark III manual and followed it for the metal settings, just to see if I could get anything and I got nothing but a clean sound.. granted, the clean sounds actually very good.. I got no gain... The amp cosmetically has seen better days... Anybody have any ideas on what could be wrong with it? I am planning on sending it to Mike B. for the III+ mod, and the way it sounds i'll need a little more work than that....

Hey, no worries, mike b will make it perfect, but it will cost.

First thing to check are the tubes. Get a 12ax7 you know is good and roll it dow the line and playtest in each position. If that doesn't work, it may be in the circuit. Bad LDR to switch channels or something. Send it to mesa. The III+ upgrade may be $300? then you may need $150 to $200 in cleaning and fixing and new caps etc... so the round trip to mesa will probably run $500 to $600, but it will be perfect when you get it back.

Did you contact the seller? any return policy or warranty? I bought 2 mark series off the net and both needed same work as you, but they were still good deals. I'm sure this will have a happy ending. let us know how it goes

scott