HELP RECORDING MARK w/ MED-HIGH GAIN!?

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fatbagg

Reaction score
Ok, Ive been recording for 3 years, and recently left computer recording...Now, I have a 900 desktop (or harddisk) 8 track recorder, a 200 dollar guitar amp mic, all planet waves cables, and a mark IV...Im getting cheese tone while recording...I need some help, if anyone could clarify a few things...

I play with mild-high gain...

Should I have reverb on while recording, and how much?
I like some mids in my sounds, but whats too much for recording?
What knobs or eq will smooth it out?
Should I record med loud (master at 2, channel at 5, full power pentode)) or quiet (master 1-2, channel at 3, class a triode)?
Should I use harmonics or mid gain?
Where should I place the mic for the most rounded type sound, not harsh?
Should I try with a 2nd mic, if so, where? ( my first is against the grill).

Im not looking for a super fuzzy or swept metal sound, I want big, smooth classic, heavy med/high gain (both gains about 7).

HELP!?!?!?!?!?!!!Any other micing techniques?

The best tip I can give you is to get the sound you want from your monitors.
And use NO, absolutely NO effects between the microphone and the recording device. A very well used classic microphone combo for guitars are Shure SM57 and Sennheiser MD421 with these two mics equally balanced you will get that classy guitar sound. Sennheiser have a mic named evo 906 which pretty much does the MD421 + som extras, and is also cheaper.

Important!
When you use two microphones together, there is always a risk for Phase cancellation, which you have to look out for.

Naturally the preamps at your recorder will mean something, and more important, the placement of the mics at the cabinet. but that you have to listen to that, when you setup the recording session.