GH Middleman Boost vs Maxon OD808 and Fulltone OCD

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

b0nkersx

Reaction score
So I recently picked up a GH Middleman Boost pedal. I have never done a review before, but I think this pedal is worth mentioning.

I found out about them from the fearedse youtube channel. Basically it is a boost pedal that has a Mid knob at 500hz instead of a standard tone knob. It has a sweep of 15db more midrange or 15db less midrange. The gain knob adds up to 35db of gain, and the volume knob is a "master volume."

You can read more about the pedal here:
http://www.pedalgeek.com/cgi-bin/new_shop.cgi?config=&uid=QvlEtQAA1306626416&command=link--ghmm

A little background:
I currently own the Fulltone OCD and Maxon OD808 and use them as boosters.
My amp is a stock Road King II, my guitar is a Schecter C-1 Limited (only 50 made) with EMGs and a 1992 Gibson Les Paul Standard with stock pickups.
My cabinetry consists of one Mills 412B (2x V30 and 2x G12K-100) and one Mesa 4x12 (4x V30) Recto standard.

Initial impressions:

Excellent build quality, extremely well put together and very sturdy. Sweet graphics. I thought the input and output being on top of the pedal was a little strange, but no biggie.

VS the Maxon OD808:

I have had a love/hate relationship with my OD808. The build quality seems pretty shady - the tone knob fell off randomly and I had to reattach it, I've had to fix the connection on the footswitch, the pots are mounted directly on the circuit board, and it feels fragile in general. The sound is great - a typical tubescreamer sound, but sometimes it seemed to suck some bottom end girth.