For those who uses Mark IV recording out - help needed!

The Boogie Board

Help Support The Boogie Board:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

badguitarist

Reaction score
How do you compared the recording out tone to the miced tone? How close is it to the miced tone? And how do you connect the whole thing to record? I'm just a noob when it comes to recording so any helps would be greatly appreciate! Thanks guys

No problem man, I've been using the recording out for quite sometime now.

Basically, the songs and clips I recorded using the recording out feature turned out great for what it is. I've heard people say to just use the feature as a sort of back-up when it's late at night and you can't mic your cab but overall the quality I'm getting is just crazy that I wouldn't mind using it as my main recording setup.

I've had a couple hours of experience with a Shure SM57 (which is not enough time at all to get the sound you want) and by playing a similar short 20sec riff that I had perviously recorded with the Mark IV's recording out, the miced recording sounds alot clearer and more alive whereas the other one sounds like it's missing the clarity or punchyness. Keep in mind that the cab and presence controls aren't in use when recording out so it makes a huge difference when comparing to a mic.

For my recording setup I have the recording out going into a M-Audio Pre USB and my M-Audio going into my laptop. I'm using Cubase as my DAW, bunch of plugins, and EZDrummer.

Overall I'm fine with using the recording out feature since I got some awesome results but if you can get your hands on a mic then get it, but it is alot more frustrating and time consuming to get the sound you want out of a mic (duh). If you have any problems or questions with recording out just send me a PM and I'll give you some settings to start out with.

Have fun :wink: